Did I Teach You Anything?

29 Feb

Did I teach you to be curious?

Did I teach you to how to find your answers?

Did I inspire you to walk, to run, to skip, to jump, to fly? To leave home, to leave me, without looking back? Did I teach you that you always have a home, wherever I am and after that, wherever you are? Did I teach you that the world is your home, that you are ever her beloved son? Do you feel at home, in the world? 

Did I teach you to feel? To stick your hands in the sand? In the mud? In the dirt? In the running water? Did I teach you to wade in and feel the surf bubbling between your toes? Did I teach you to jump in the ocean, the lake, the pond, and kick for the surface, over and over again? Did I teach you to ride the wave? Sit on the rock? Dangle your toes in the stream on a hot day?

Did I teach you to look at the sky and to read the clouds?

Did I teach you to watch and listen to the birds and the lizards?

Did I teach you to sit? Be still? By yourself, with no external distractions?

Did I teach you to look at our mother, the mountain? To respect her and honor her?

Did I teach you to sit outside in the rain, and not get wet? 

Did I teach you to hug properly? Full-frontal, with both arms wrapping around? Did I teach you to greet someone the right way? Face to face and eye to eye, really seeing them? 

Did I teach you to love? Full- frontal, heart to heart, open and willing?

Did I teach you to recover from mistakes? From hurt?

Did I teach you to be creative? To pull something from your soul and share it with the world?

Did I teach you to work? Inside? Outside? With your hands and body and strength? With your mind? At a desk? With others? Alone?

Did I teach you that you can choose the way in which you earn a living? That you get to choose the life you want to live?

Did I teach you that you can change your mind? That you can have as many do-overs as you like?

Did I teach you to re-invent yourself when needed?

Did I teach you to burn yourself up and rise from your own ashes? 

Did I leave you unencumbered? Unburdened by my interpretation of my history? Unburdened by my things; by anything? 

Did I teach you to be free? Free to develop and grow into yourself? Free to form your own beliefs and way of doing things?

Did I show you who I was and what was important to me? Did I see you and learn what’s important to you?

Did I teach you to be present and mindful? 

Did I teach you to be kind? Loving? Compassionate?

Did I teach you to say “I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to hurt you. Will you forgive me?”

Did I teach you to say I love you; that whatever the question or the situation, love is the answer. 

Did I teach you that I love you? Did I show you in my actions, not just by my words?

If I have not, then I say to you now, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to hurt you. Please forgive me. I love you.

Image

 

One Response to “Did I Teach You Anything?”

  1. sharon mayberry March 20, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Yes you did. Me and Kerrick and Edu and a cast of thousands.

Leave a Reply

